Two-Day All-India Political Science Conference Begins at USTM



Guwahati, March 26: The 59and The All India Political Science Conference and International Seminar on “India’s Incredible Global Rise” starts from today at Meghalaya University of Science and Technology (USTM) with the participation of of more than 1000 distinguished guests from all over the country, including 13 acting vice-chancellors and alumni of different universities, professors and researchers in political science.

Held for the first time in northeast India, this two-day mega university event is jointly organized by the Indian Political Science Association (IPSA) and USTM on 26and and 27and Of March.

The inaugural session of the conference began with a welcome address by Professor Gauri Dutta Sharma, VC, USTM. Afterwards, Prof. Sanjeev Kumar Sharma, VC, Central Mahatma Gandhi University and Secretary General and Treasurer of IPSA expressed his gratitude to the USTM family and Chancellor Mahbubul Hoque for hosting the conference and presented the IPSA report . Prof. Jayant K. Mohapatra, Former VC, University of Berhampur and Prof. Nani Gopal Mahanata, Academic Advisor, Government of Assam delivered their speeches as guests of honour.

Addressing the scientific meeting, Prof. Santishree Pandit, President of IPSA and VC, JNU, New Delhi, said that educational institutions require private participation like that of USTM. “In India, the concept of unity is the concept of diversity, the celebration of diversity is our cultural strength, not our weakness. The rise of amazing India is in the ideas, in the stories of civilizations, the uniqueness of India as a civilization is assimilation,” she added.

The inaugural function of this prestigious conference was also addressed by Mahbubul Hoque, Chancellor of USTM; Teacher. R. Thandavan, former IPSA President and former VC, University of Madras. Following the announcement of various National IPSA Awards, Dr. M. Nazeer Hussain, Local Organizing Secretary and Chief Political Science Officer, USTM delivered the vote of thanks.

The Conclave also includes a book exhibition, a memorial lecture by Professor MS Chaturvedi, a plenary session on Ek Bharat Shreshtha Bharat, a symposium on Amrit Mahotsava of Indian independence as well as a cultural program by USTM students featuring showcasing the ethnic diversity of the northeast region.

The various parallel technical sessions of the seminar include: “Democratic Governance in India”, chaired by Prof. Nisar-ul-Haque, Department of Political Science, Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi; “Global Rise of India” chaired by Professor Jitendra Narayan, Dean, LN Mithila University; ‘Politica of Indian Diaspora’ chaired by Prof. Rabindra K. Satpathy, Former Director, ICSSR Regional Centre, NEHU; “Current Debates in Indian Politics” chaired by Professor Bishnu Charan Choudhary, former Head of Department of Political Science, University of Berhampur; “Post-Covid World Politics” chaired by Professor Manas Chakraborty, Professor Emeritus, Department of Political Science, University of North Bengal; ‘Regional Aspiration in National Politics’ chaired by Professor Saroj J. Verma, former Professor and Head of the Department of Political Science at Jayaprakash University; “Contemporary Political Economy” chaired by Prof. Raj Kumar Kothari, Head of Department of Political Science, Diamond Harbor Women’s University, West Bengal; “Amrit Mahotsav of Indian Independence” chaired by Prof. Geetanjali Das, Dean, Fakir Mohan University, Odisha; ‘Challenges of Global terrorism’ chaired by Prof. P. Madurai Veeran, Former Director, Anna Center for Public Affairs, University of Madras; “The Indian Idea of ​​Political Thought” chaired by Prof. Rekha Saxena, University of Delhi; ‘Atmanirbhar Bharat’ chaired by Prof. RS Yadav, University of Kurukshetra; “Political Dynamics of North East India” chaired by Prof. Munmun Majumdar, Department of Political Science, NEHU.

Source link


Comments are closed.